Support Topics

How to add a destination

  1. Click the '+' button at the bottom left of the Baccus Window.
  2. Drag an empty destination folder from an AFP / SMB share, or external drive, into the dotted 'drop zone'.
  3. Click next, then you're done!

How to configure a destination

  1. Sources - A source is an item to back up. Drag in, or select, a folder or file. To include it in your backup, ensure 'include' is selected. To exclude from your backup, ensure 'exclude' is selected.
  2. Settings
    • Schedule Automatic Backups - If this is checked, Baccus will attempt to back up to your destination once your specified minimum time between backups is reached. Once your destination becomes available (by either plugging your external drive, or by simply being on the same network as your NAS), Baccus will continue to backup.

      If 'Schedule Automatic Backups' is not checked, you have to manually trigger a back up by clicking the 'Backup Now' button.
    • Backup - You can select to keep changed / removed files, and specify how many days you'd like to keep them for. Any changed or removed files will be kept in folders named '__changed' and '__removed', which are kept in the same folder as your backup destination.
    • Destination - If you've got a network destination configured, you can edit the NAS hostname and username as required. If you change you destination path outside of Baccus, you'll need to remove your destination (which will not remove any files), and then re-add your destination.

How to view failed backup details

Occasionally, you might get a warning saying a backup has failed. This could be for a number of reasons, perhaps you have no permission to access a file, or maybe the destination has run out of space, or the connection to the destination became lost or interrupted.

You can review recent backup 'events' by clicking on 'Events', and then clicking the button '...' next to any event.

FAQs

How many Macs does a license support?

If you use the App in a private context you can install the license on up to 2 Macs. If you're using Baccus for your business, you must purchase a license for each Mac.

If you require a larger number of licenses or a site license, please get in touch.

How does Baccus mount my NAS shares?

In macOS, you can't rely on a network share being mounted all the time. In order to back up your data in an efficient and non time-consuming way, we mount your NAS shares in the background. There are no passwords stored by Baccus — this is handled by macOS itself. Once a backup completes, Baccus will unmount the share automatically. Baccus will not interfere with any connected shares.

How can I restore my backups?

Simply have any destination available, either plugged into your computer, or have your computer on the same network as your NAS. Start typing into the Search field, and you'll see search results populating the results list. You can then select the file you want, and click 'Restore' to save to whatever restore location you choose.

By design, we also ensure that all files can be easily restored outside of Baccus, simply by browsing the destination folder structure in Finder.